SWC Forestry Awards 2016

2016 Forestry training and success celebrated in the South


The evening of Friday 20 May 2016 saw an outstanding turnout by local forestry companies, contractors and transport operators from throughout the lower South Island of New Zealand. The function was the Southern Wood Council Forestry Awards for 2016. Like 2015, over 350 forest managers, forestry contractors, transport operators and product and service suppliers to the industry from throughout the lower South Island attended the awards evening at Dunedin’s Forsyth Barr Stadium.

Presenters and speakers at the awards programme included rural broadcaster Jamie MacKay from Newstalk ZB and Radio Sport’s show The Country, Hon Jo Goodhew, Associate Minister for Primary Industries, Peter Gallagher, All Blacks Physiotherapist and High-Performance Sports Consultant, Stephanie Rotorangi, Principal Rural Fire Officer, Otago and local forestry companies.

Around 120 National Training Certificates that had been achieved in Forestry & Wood Processing were awarded to top local contractors and forestry and wood processing employees. In addition, nine major industry awards were presented to:

  • Training Excellence Award – Modern Apprentice of the Year (Sponsored by Southern Wood Council) : Award Winner; Keanu Falconer, Shane Griffin Logging
  • Training Excellence Award – Forestry Trainee of the Year (harvesting) (Sponsored by Rayonier/ Matariki Forests) : Award Winner; Wayde Lindsay, Shane Griffin Logging
  • Training Excellence Award – Forestry Trainee of the Year (silviculture) (Sponsored by Dynes Transport) : Award Winner; Darren Lundin, McHoull Contracting
  • Skilled Professionals Awards – Forestry Excellence Award (establishment, silviculture, fire, harvesting) (Sponsored by South Wood Export) : Award Winner; Craig Gamble, Gamble Forest Harvesting
  • Skilled Professionals Awards – Wood Processing Excellence Award (Sponsored by Competenz) : Award Winner; Phillip Townshend, Niagara Sawmilling Co
  • Skilled Professionals Awards – Forest Products/Logistics/Transport/Port Award (Sponsored by UDC) : Award Winner; Blair Keelty of McNeill Drilling Company Ltd (Logging Division)
  • Industry Excellence Awards – Forestry Environmental Management Excellence Award (Sponsored by Otago Regional Council) : Award Winner; Greg Kendall/Paul Hart of Ernslaw One
  • Industry Excellence Awards – Training Company/Contractor of the Year (Sponsored by City Forests) : Award Winner; Johnson Forestry Services
  • Industry Excellence Awards – Forest Products Health & Safety Award (Sponsored by Ernslaw One) : Award Winner; Gillion Logging
  • Tree Faller Certification – Otago Southland. Four new certificates for Professional Tree Faller Certification, a new scheme that has just been implemented in the Otago/Southland region were also awarded.